If you live in Utah or plan to pass through on a motorcycle trip, you should take time to learn the state’s unique motorcycle laws. Read on to learn more about Utah motorcycle laws.
Utah Helmet Laws
Utah follows a partial helmet law policy. All motorcycle riders under 21 must wear a DOT-approved helmet while riding a motorcycle. Meanwhile, riders 21 and older can choose to wear a helmet if they prefer.
While helmet use is not mandatory for adult riders, we strongly recommend wearing a helmet every time you ride a motorcycle. Helmets can protect you from severe head injuries. They don’t take much time and effort to put on, but they could save your life.
Lane Filtering Laws
Utah laws allow for lane filtering, or riding a motorcycle between lanes of stopped traffic. This practice can sometimes be helpful when a motorcycle needs to get to the front of a line. It can also prevent rear-end collisions in some cases.
However, there are a few restrictions on motorcycle lane filtering. Motorcyclists can only lane filter when:
- The speed limit is 45 miles per hour or less
- The road is not a freeway
- The road has at least two traffic lanes traveling in the direction of traffic
- Vehicles are stopped
- The motorcyclist’s speed stays at or below 15 miles per hour
- Lane filtering can be achieved safely
The Utah Department of Public Safety also notes that lane filtering is a choice and presents unique safety challenges for riders. As a result, you should only lane filter when it is entirely safe to do so.
Utah Motorcycle Endorsement
You must obtain a valid motorcycle endorsement before operating a motorcycle on the road. Here are the requirements to add a motorcycle endorsement to your driver’s license:
- Visit a Driver’s License office
- Take a photo and pass an eye test
- Provide proof of identity and address, if your address is different from what is on your driver’s license
- Pay an $8 endorsement fee
- Pass a 25-question written knowledge test
- Pass a motorcycle driving skills test OR take a Motorcycle Safety Foundation Beginning Rider Course (BRC)
Motorcycle Equipment Laws
Your motorcycle must contain all necessary equipment to remain safe and legal on the road. Specifically, your bike needs the following:
- A left-hand rear view mirror
- A braking system
- Handlebars no higher than shoulder height
- A horn
- An odometer
- At least one headlight, taillight, and brake light
You’ll also need to carry your motorcycle title and registration on your bike.
You must carry adequate motorcycle insurance to operate your motorcycle on public roads. According to Utah state law, all motorcyclists must carry the following liability insurance at a minimum:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance per person
- $65,000 bodily injury liability insurance per accident
- $15,000 property damage liability insurance
We recommend talking to your insurance provider about the best insurance coverage to purchase as a motorcycle rider. You’ll want adequate coverage to pay for physical damage and medical bills resulting from a potential accident.
Various Utah Motorcycle Laws
Utah has several specific motorcycle laws in place that you need to be aware of as a Utah motorcycle rider. Here are a few laws to keep in mind as you ride:
- Motorcyclists cannot ride side-by-side in a single lane.
- Motorcycles are permitted to ride in the High Occupancy Vehicle (HOV) lane.
- Motorcyclists may only ride with passengers if their bikes have separate seats and footrests for passengers.
- Motorcyclists cannot pass moving vehicles in the same lane.
- Motorcyclists must use their turn signals for at least two seconds before turning.
And before you hit the road, be sure to request your Law Tigers Rider Benefit Package. It comes with a $10,000 Hit-and-Run Reward, $10,000 Bike Theft Reward, Free Legal Advice for all Motorcycle Matters, Free Motorcycle Repair or Replacement Assistance, and a handy document holder – all FREE from your friends at Law Tigers!