Is there any better way to experience Oregon’s 74,000+ miles of beautiful scenery, lush green forests, and crisp, clean air than from a motorcycle? Not so fast.
First you’ll need to obtain the proper license endorsement before you can ride legally. In this post, our team at Law Tigers will explain everything you need to know about getting your Oregon motorcycle license, including where to start, the required classes and tests, and important safety tips.
Getting a Motorcycle License in Oregon: The Basics
According to data from the Oregon DMV (Driver & Motor Vehicle Services), 30% of motorcycle crashes in 2019 involved riders who lacked the proper license endorsement. State law requires you to have a valid license endorsement, and riding a motorcycle without one is a Class A violation. You could also face a fine of up to $2,000. A license is necessary for any bike that can surpass 30 mph and has an engine over 50 cubic centimeters
What Are the Requirements for an Oregon Motorcycle License?
The first step in getting your Oregon motorcycle license is obtaining a valid driver’s license. Only then can you apply for a motorcycle permit. After receiving a permit, each motorcycle license applicant must:
- Be age 16 or older
- Be a resident of Oregon
- Provide proof of residence and identity
- Have a valid Oregon driver’s license
- Submit an identification card application or driver’s license
- Pass a motorcycle rider education course from Team Oregon
- Pass a motorcycle knowledge test
- Pass a vision test
- Pay the applicable fees
Mandatory Team Oregon Motorcycle Rider Education Courses
Team Oregon is the only state-approved motorcycle education provider in the state. You must first complete a Team Oregon motorcycle rider training course before you can receive an endorsement:
- Basic Rider Training: BRT is for riders over age 16 and waives the motorcycle knowledge and skills test.
- Intermediate Rider Training: IRT is for riders 21 and over and waives the motorcycle skills test.
- eRider® Basic: The Basic test is for riders over age 16 and waives the skills test.
- eRider® Intermediate: The Intermediate test is for riders over age 21 and waives the skills test.
Motorcycle Safety Tips
In 2020, there were 786 motorcycle accidents in Oregon, resulting in 67 fatalities and 680 injuries. All riders should practice care and vigilance when driving and follow these vital motorcycle safety tips:
- Always check the weather before riding
- Wear the proper gear and a helmet
- Take a safety refresher course every year
- Inspect your bike before each ride
- Wear visible clothing
- Obey traffic rules and drive the speed limit
- Watch out for road hazards
- Assume that other motorists cannot see you
- Avoid tailgating and lane-splitting
- Always carry a first-aid kit
Motorcycle accidents can occur in the blink of an eye and often result in catastrophic injuries or death. If you or a loved one have suffered a motorcycle injury or wrongful death, seeking legal help from our experienced personal injury lawyers will improve your chances of a favorable outcome in your case.
In Oregon, you only have two years from the date of your accident to file a claim; otherwise, you’ll be unable to seek compensation. So don’t wait another day – hire a motorcycle injury law firm immediately so you can focus on recovery while your attorney takes care of the legal end of your case.
Call Us at Law Tigers Today
Getting your Oregon motorcycle license can be a long process. Once you have a legal endorsement for riding, it’s important to follow safety tips and ride carefully.If you ever suffer an injury in a motorcycle crash, our attorneys at Law Tigers can help. Call us at (888) 863-7216 to schedule your free consultation with our team regarding your motorcycle injury case.