If you live in Utah, you’ll need to follow the state’s unique process to secure a motorcycle license. In order to operate a motorcycle in the state, you must have a specific motorcycle license endorsement or permit. Carrying a driver’s license is not sufficient to ride a motorcycle.
Here’s how to get your Utah motorcycle license:
1. Understand the Requirements to Receive a Motorcycle License
In Utah, you do not need a separate motorcycle license to ride a motorcycle. Instead, you need a motorcycle endorsement on an existing driver’s license. This endorsement extends your driving abilities to include operating motorcycles.
You must meet a few requirements to be eligible for a motorcycle endorsement:
- Have a Class D or commercial driver’s license
- Pass a vision test
- Pass a written motorcycle test
- Pass an on-bike skills test
- Pay the fee for a renewal driver’s license
- Pay the $18 fee for a motorcycle endorsement
- Bring a compliant motorcycle and helmet to the exam
- Carry the minimum motorcycle liability insurance
You must be at least 16 years of age to apply for a motorcycle endorsement. Anyone between the ages of 16 and 18 must hold a motorcycle learner’s permit for two months before receiving a full motorcycle endorsement. This permit restricts riding to between the hours of 6:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m. and at speeds of 60 miles per hour or lower.
If you are 19 or older, you do not need to receive a permit before completing the requirements to obtain a full motorcycle endorsement. However, some riders decide to first take the written exam, receive a permit, and then practice riding on the road before taking the on-bike skills test.
2. Take the Written Exam
The first step in the Utah motorcycle license process is to pass a written knowledge exam. This exam will test your understanding of motorcycle navigation and traffic laws. It will ask questions such as:
- When should a group of motorcyclists ride in a staggered formation?
- When can a motorcyclist ride in the high-occupancy vehicle (HOV) lane?
- What should you do if the front tire fails while you’re riding?
- What does the right foot pedal control?
You can take practice tests online before you take your official test through the DMV. We also recommend reading the Utah Motorcycle Operator Manual, as all of the questions on the test originate from this manual.
3. Take a Motorcycle Safety Course (Optional)
Motorcycle safety courses are not mandatory for motorcycle riders in Utah. However, taking a course could be highly beneficial for your license process.
Taking a motorcycle safety course allows you to receive hands-on training and instruction from a qualified instructor. At the end of the course, you must take an on-bike riding test to pass the class. Passing this test allows you to receive a waiver for the on-bike skills test portion of the motorcycle license process.
You can find motorcycle safety courses throughout Utah. However, be sure to choose a course certified by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation to ensure that it counts for your skills test.
4. Visit the DMV
If you decide not to take a motorcycle safety course, you will need to visit the DMV and take an on-bike skills test to receive your license. If you have already passed a class, you can take your waiver to the DMV to complete the licensing process.
Make sure to bring identifying documentation to the DMV, including your birth certificate, existing driver’s license, name change documentation, and proof of address.
Now that you know how to get your Utah motorcycle license, you’ll be all set to begin this enjoyable hobby. Whether an absolute beginner or a seasoned road warrior, every rider should sign up for the Law Tigers Rider’s Benefit Package. It’s FREE and comes with some great features. Check it out!