Kansas Motorcycle Laws – What Every Rider Should Know

Each state across the U.S. has unique laws for motorcyclists, including whether helmets are mandatory for all riders and whether lane splitting is permitted. Knowing a state’s specific motorcycle laws can ensure that you stay compliant and avoid accidents while you ride. 

Read on to learn the Kansas motorcycle laws every rider should know. 

Kansas Motorcycle Helmet Laws

All riders younger than 18 must wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle. Along with motorcycle helmets, young riders must also ride a bike with a proper windshield or use shatterproof eye protection, such as goggles or a face shield, while riding. Meanwhile, all riders must wear eye protection if their windscreen is shorter than 10 inches above the handlebars. 

While riders 18 and older can choose whether or not to wear a helmet, we highly recommend it. Wearing a helmet is the most important thing you can do to prevent serious head injuries in a motorcycle accident. At Law Tigers, we see far too many accident victims experience devastating injuries due to not wearing a helmet. 

Additionally, the states bordering Kansas have different helmet laws that you should be aware of. For example, Nebraska has a universal helmet law, while Missouri requires helmets for riders under 25. 

Motorcycle Licensing in Kansas

You must have a Class M motorcycle endorsement on your license to operate a motorcycle in Kansas. Until July 2019, riders took advantage of a loophole that allowed anyone to ride a motorcycle within the first 60 days of ownership. However, as of July 2019, this loophole is no longer in effect. 

Kansas Motorcycle Safety Equipment

Your motorcycle must be equipped with the proper safety equipment for you to ride it on the road legally. 

According to Kansas motorcycle equipment requirements, your bike must have:

  • At least one headlight
  • At least one tail light
  • At least one brake light
  • Turn signals
  • A horn
  • A registration plate light
  • A rear stop lamp
  • A rear reflector

If your motorcycle was manufactured before 1973, it may be exempt from some of these requirements. 

Kansas Passenger Rules

When you ride with a passenger, your passenger must have their own seat and footrests. Kansas does not have any age restrictions for passengers. However, if your passenger is younger than 18, they must wear a helmet while riding with you. 

You should also ensure that your passenger knows the proper way to sit securely on the bike. 

Kansas Motorcycle Insurance Requirements

Every state requires motorcyclists to hold minimum insurance coverage to ride their motorcycles on the road. In Kansas, these minimums are as follows:

  • $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person 
  • $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident
  • $10,000 property damage coverage 
  • $25,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50,000 uninsured motorist coverage per accident

Your insurance provider can suggest any additional coverage you may want to hold as a motorcyclist. For example, if you want to protect your bike from damage on your property, you can consider comprehensive coverage. 

Kansas Lane Splitting Requirements

Lane splitting is the act of riding a motorcycle between two stopped lanes of traffic. Every state has different requirements for lane splitting, and research has even suggested that lane splitting may help prevent motorcycle accidents. 

However, Kansas currently prohibits lane splitting. Still, motorcyclists are permitted to ride side-by-side in the same lane, as long as the lane is wide enough to do so safely. 

Understanding Kansas motorcycle laws is an important step in preventing accidents. However, if you have been involved in a motorcycle accident, our Law Tigers team can help. Contact us today at 1-888-863-7216 to request a free consultation.