Whether you live in Oklahoma or are passing through on a motorcycle trip, knowing Oklahoma’s motorcycle laws is essential. Each state has unique motorcycle laws, and failing to obey these laws while in the state can leave you with a ticket, a citation, or even jail time.
Read on to learn the Oklahoma motorcycle laws you should know.
Oklahoma Helmet Laws
Some states require all motorcyclists to wear DOT-compliant helmets, while others are less strict with their helmet laws. In Oklahoma, helmets are optional for riders 18 and older. However, anyone under age 18 must wear a helmet that meets DOT standards.
Oklahoma adjusts its helmet laws frequently. Previously, the state required every rider to wear a helmet. However, it then changed the law to include only riders under 21 before making the final amendment apply to only riders under 18.
While helmets are not mandatory for adult riders in Oklahoma, we strongly recommend wearing one every time you ride your bike. Doing so could save your life if you ever become involved in an accident.
If you choose not to wear a helmet with a face shield, you must instead wear protective eye gear while operating your motorcycle. You must also equip your motorcycle with adequate equipment to operate your bike safely.
According to Oklahoma motorcycle laws, every motorcycle must have the following:
- Two rear-view mirrors
- A fender on each wheel
- A muffler
- A horn
- A working speedometer
- At least one red tail light visible from at least 500 feet
Oklahoma Motorcycle Passenger Laws
If you want to ride your motorcycle with a passenger in Oklahoma, you must adhere to the state’s passenger laws. To bring a passenger with you, you must:
- Be over age 16
- Have wheels at least 12 inches in diameter
- Have a double seating device
- Have two sets of footrests
Lane Splitting Laws
Lane splitting is the practice of riding your motorcycle between lanes of stopped traffic. Some states permit this practice, while others prohibit it.
In Oklahoma, lane splitting is illegal. Riding your motorcycle between stopped traffic can result in a ticket and a fine.
However, Oklahoma law does not mention anything about two motorcyclists riding side by side in the same lane. Just be sure that the road is wide enough to accommodate both motorcycles comfortably.
Motorcycle Driver License Process
If you live in Oklahoma, you must obtain a motorcycle endorsement in the state. You will need to pass several tests, including vision tests, knowledge tests, and on-bike skills exams, before you can obtain your endorsement.
You must be at least 16 years old to obtain a full motorcycle endorsement. If you are younger than 16, you can apply for a permit to operate a motorcycle under certain conditions.
Before you can legally operate a motorcycle in Oklahoma, you must obtain a certain amount of liability insurance coverage. These coverage amounts are as follows:
- $25,000 injury per person / $50,000 per accident
- $25,000 property damage
These insurance coverages can provide funds for the other driver’s damage and injuries in an at-fault accident. However, we recommend talking to your insurance agent about other types of motorcycle coverage that can benefit you.
Motorcycle Exhaust Laws
Some states have laws about how much exhaust your motorcycle can produce and the noise levels your motorcycle must stay under. However, Oklahoma does not specify requirements about noise and exhaust. Following Oklahoma motorcycle laws is an essential step in staying safe on your bike.
If You’ve Been Injured in an Oklahoma Motorcycle Accident, Call Law Tigers
If you ever become involved in a motorcycle accident, a Law Tigers attorney can help. Contact us today at 1-888-863-7216 to schedule your free consultation.