As attorneys who love two-wheeled American iron and crave the open road, we understand your passion for riding and its regulations. Motorcycle laws help ensure you operate your motorcycle correctly and stay safe in traffic. You’ll want to follow these laws in Wyoming to avoid accidents and enjoy the ride as long as possible.
Although many Wyoming residents own a motorcycle, they may not all understand helmet laws. Here are some you’ll need to keep in mind as you ride:
- If you are under 18 years old, you must wear protective headgear while riding a motorcycle.
- The state has specific standards for approved helmets, including securely fastening one to your head.
- Riders older than 18 do not necessarily have to wear helmets, but we highly recommend them. They can save your life if you get in a collision.
Noise and Exhaust Laws
We all know motorcycles can be noisy. Your exhaust could contribute to this and create hazards on the road, so there are laws to enforce this. Here are two motorcycle laws in Wyoming that govern noise reduction and exhaust requirements:
- You don’t necessarily need a properly functioning muffler. However, the exhaust must not produce excessive noise.
- Noise restrictions may vary from county to county and district to district.
Safety Inspection and Equipment Laws
You’ll want to check your motorcycle regularly to ensure it functions correctly and safely on the road. Wyoming motorcycle laws aren’t as strict with inspection and safety equipment as other states, but they do have some stipulations:
- Your motorcycle must include a left-side mirror.
- Handlebars cannot extend higher than your shoulders when seated.
- Wyoming doesn’t mandate safety inspections for motorcycles.
When stuck in slow-moving or stopped traffic, you may feel the urge to ride between vehicles and cut ahead. However, lane splitting is illegal in Wyoming. Besides being against the law, it’s severely dangerous to weave between rows of cars, trucks, SUVs, and other vehicles.
According to motorcycle laws in Wyoming, two motorcycles can legally ride beside each other in the same lane. However, it is illegal for three or more motorcycles to ride abreast in a single lane. Feel free to ride next to your traveling buddy if both of you can safely do so.
License, Endorsement, and Safety Course Laws
To legally drive a motorcycle in Wyoming, you must have a valid driver’s license, motorcycle instruction permit, intermediate motorcycle license, or restricted license. You don’t need a valid driver’s license before getting your motorcycle license.
You do not need to take a safety course to receive a motorcycle license. However, completing a safety course will exempt you from taking the knowledge exam and on-cycle skills test. The course will also help you operate your motorcycle more skillfully and safely.
Are motorcycle endorsements required in Wyoming? Yes, getting a motorcycle endorsement means you can legally ride on public roadways. Riding without your motorcycle endorsement or license can lead to the following:
- Fines up to $750
- Towing fees
- Misdemeanor charges
- Imprisonment up to six months
You can start getting your motorcycle license before you turn 18 in Wyoming. If you’re 17 years old, you can earn your license without training. If you’re 16.5 years old, you can complete a safety course to get your motorcycle license.
Need Help With Motorcycle Law? Contact Law Tigers
Following motorcycle laws in Wyoming will help you stay safe and enjoy the ride. However, even law-abiding motorists can get involved in an accident. If you’ve recently been in a motorcycle collision, get legal representation from experienced motorcycle attorneys at Law Tigers—call us at 1-888-863-7216 for a free case evaluation.