Licensing and safety laws vary from state to state. New Mexico motorcycle safety and licensing laws require a knowledge test, a safety course for riders under 18 years of age, and following other laws to protect bikers and motorists.
Getting Your New Mexico Motorcycle Driver’s License
New Mexico offers three levels of motorcycle endorsements for different-sized bikes.
● W endorsements allow riders to handle a motorcycle with an engine size of 100cc or more.
● Y endorsements enable riders to drive a motorcycle with an engine size between 50-100cc.
● Z endorsements allow riders to handle a bike with an engine size less than 50cc
Riders as young as 13 years old can apply for a Y or Z endorsement permit or license but may not carry passengers. Riders must be 15 years old to apply for a W endorsement permit or license. Riders must be over 18 and hold a licensed motorcycle endorsement to carry passengers on a motorcycle.
To get a motorcycle endorsement, riders must apply in person at an MVD office. Riders should bring:
● Any current licensing or permits
● Identification documents to prove name, social security number, date of birth, U.S. citizenship or legal alien status, and New Mexico residency
● A parent or guardian’s signature for minor riders
● Certification of completion for the Basic Rider Course if you intend to waive the knowledge test and road skills assessment requirements
If under the age of 18, riders must take and pass the Basic Rider Course to get a motorcycle endorsement.
Riders over 18 can choose to take the course to waive the written and road tests for their motorcycle license. If you do not wish to take the New Mexico motorcycle safety course and are over 18, you can take the written assessment and road skills license test instead.
Motorcycle Safety Equipment
Your New Mexico motorcycle must include specific safety equipment, including:
● Working turn signals
● At least one, but not more than two, headlamps situated no more than 54 inches above ground level, but not less than 20 inches
● Side mirrors with visibility of at least 200 feet behind the rider
● Minimum insurance coverage of $25,000 in bodily injury liability and $10,000 in property damage liability
● A passenger seat and footrests, if carrying a passenger
● A muffler that prevents excessive or unusual noise
Note that the state does not limit noise from your motorcycle, but some states may require additional restrictions. Research your local noise ordinances before choosing a custom muffler.
You also always need to have your bike inspection ready. Law enforcement officers can perform random safety inspections of motorcycles in New Mexico.
Helmets and Protective Motorcycle Gear
All riders and passengers under the age of 18 must wear DOT-approved helmets with reflective markings. Although not required for riders or passengers over 18 years of age, motorcycle helmets save lives. Additionally, many helmets feature Bluetooth functionality for hands-free phone calls and music playlists, allowing you to focus on the road while scrolling through your tunes or coordinating your ride.
Riders must also wear protective eyewear if their motorcycle does not include an approved fixed windshield. Acceptable forms of eyewear include safety glasses, goggles, or a visor attached to a DOT-approved helmet.
Call Us at Law Tigers for Motorcycle Lawyer Help in New Mexico
Review the New Mexico motorcycle safety and licensing laws if you’re planning to get your motorcycle driver’s license in New Mexico. For help with a motorcycle accident, call Law Tigers at 1-888-863-7216. We’re lawyers who ride, and we help bikers pursue justice across the country.