Oregon Motorcycle Laws – What Riders Should Know

Male motorcyclist wearing helmet and glasses riding motorcycle.

Are you a biker in Oregon? Motorcycle regulations vary between states, so be sure to know the laws for your state as well as any state where you want to travel. Our team at Law Tigers can help you with any legal issues regarding motorcycles. That’s what we do!

Oregon issues three types of authorizations for motorcycle riders:

  • Motorcycle Instruction Permit
  • Motorcycle Endorsement
  • Restricted (Three Wheel) Motorcycle Endorsement

In Oregon, every motorcycle driver and passenger must wear a DOT-approved helmet at all times.

Getting Your Oregon Motorcycle Endorsement

In Oregon, to get your motorcycle endorsement. You will need:

●        A mandatory rider education course certificate from TEAM OREGON

●        An appointment at the DMV office to complete your application

●        Proof of identity and residence

●        To pass the motorcycle knowledge test

●        To pass the vision test

●        To pass the on-road skills test

●        To pay the applicable endorsement fees

●        To have a new picture taken for your driver’s license with a motorcycle endorsement

If you take the Basic Rider Training course with TEAM OREGON, you can skip the requirements for both the knowledge and road tests. If you take the Intermediate Rider Training, the DMV will only waive the road skill test, and you must pass the written knowledge test.

Oregon also offers motorcycle instructional permits to riders at least 16 years old and offers a separate restricted three-wheel motorcycle endorsement.

Insurance Requirements for Motorcycle Riders

Oregon requires motorcycle riders to carry separate motorcycle insurance. The state minimum requirements include $25,000 in bodily injury liability with at least $50,000 in coverage per accident and $20,000 minimum coverage for property damage liability.

The state does not require personal injury protection (PIP) insurance coverage for your own injuries in a motorcycle accident, just liability coverage for other motor vehicles and drivers. The state minimums are also usually not adequate to cover the expenses of those involved in an accident. Consider adding more coverage types, with higher limits, to ensure that you have adequate coverage.

Motorcycle Safety Equipment

Your motorcycle must have specific equipment in Oregon, including:

●        A white headlamp kept on when riding at night or during the day

●        A rear red brake light and red taillight

●        A rear red reflector

●        A white license plate light

●        At least one rear-view mirror with visibility of at least 200 feet behind the rider

●        A horn audible at least 200 feet away

●        Working turn signal lights for any motorcycle from 1974 or newer

●        Fenders on all wheels

●        A working exhaust system with a muffler that maintains noise below the Department of Environmental Quality restrictions

Helmets and Other Safety Gear

Oregon requires DOT-approved helmets for all motorcycle passengers and riders. If you are in an accident when you or your passenger is not wearing a helmet, the court could find you partially at fault for the injuries and reduce the compensation awarded, even if you win your case.

Although protective eyewear is not required, you should probably wear goggles or safety glasses while riding to protect your eyes if your helmet doesn’t include a face shield.

Other Oregon Motorcycle Laws

Motorcyclists and operators of other motor vehicles share the road and should know how to do so safely. Lane splitting is not allowed in Oregon, nor is passing on the right using the shoulder. However, motorcyclists can ride two across (tandem) in a lane.

A motorcyclist can go through a red light if they come to a full stop and the light passes an entire cycle without registering the presence of the bike. If you need to run a red light, use caution when pulling into the intersection and watch for traffic.

Call Us at Law Tigers for Help With Motorcycle Law in Oregon

While not a complete list of Oregon motorcycle laws, we’ve tried to highlight the basics here. At Law Tigers, we’re attorneys who ride and represent bikers in motorcycle cases across the country. For help with a motorcycle accident injury call Law Tigers at 1-888-863-7216.