Are you ready to become a biker? If so, you’ll need to get a motorcycle license.
If you live in Colorado, you must follow the state’s specific procedures for motorcycle licenses. Read on to learn the steps for getting your Colorado motorcycle license.
Who Is Eligible for a Motorcycle License?
Before you begin the licensing process, you should ensure that you meet the basic requirements.
First, you must be at least 16 years old to apply for a motorcycle endorsement. If you are under 16, you can only operate a motorcycle under the direct supervision of a Motorcycle Safety Foundation instructor.
Minors between 16 and 18 must hold a motorcycle instruction permit for 12 months before receiving a full motorcycle endorsement.
Additionally, you must have a regular driver’s license before you can apply for a motorcycle endorsement. This endorsement will allow you to operate a motorcycle on the road.
Types of Motorcycle Endorsements
Instead of needing to obtain and keep a motorcycle license in your wallet, you will need to get an endorsement on a regular license. Colorado recognizes two types of motorcycle endorsements:
- M endorsement: Allows you to operate two- and three-wheel motorcycles
- 3 endorsement: Allows you to operate only three-wheel motorcycles
Be sure to consider your potential riding habits before determining which endorsement you need. Most motorcyclists need the Class M endorsement.
Colorado Motorcycle License Process
Colorado offers two methods of receiving a Class M endorsement on a driver’s license. Here are the two options for getting your Colorado motorcycle license:
The first method is to pass a few tests through the DMV.
First, you will need to take a written motorcycle exam. This exam tests your knowledge of basic motorcycle operations and traffic laws. For example, you may see a question with a traffic pattern diagram and ask which maneuver for the motorcyclist is correct.
Once you pass this written test, you can purchase a motorcycle instruction permit that allows you to ride your motorcycle under certain conditions. Then, you will need to schedule a motorcycle driving skills test through the DMV.
Finally, once you pass this on-bike skills test, you can purchase your motorcycle endorsement.
The Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles offers an alternative motorcycle licensing method that many people prefer. Through this method, you can bypass the steps above by taking a Motorcycle Operator Safety Training (MOST) course. At the end of this course, you will need to take a written and on-bike skills test with the instructor.
Upon passing these tests, you will receive a waiver through the safety course that you can present at the DMV. This waiver allows you to skip the DMV tests and qualify for your motorcycle endorsement.
Obtaining Your License
Once you complete option one or option two, you will be ready to obtain your motorcycle endorsement. You cannot add this endorsement online, by mail, or over the phone. Instead, you must have an appointment at a Colorado driver license office to obtain your endorsement.
Additionally, you will need to purchase a new driver’s license at this office that will include your endorsement. This license costs around $30.
Penalties for Riding Without a License
You may be tempted to ride your motorcycle without completing these steps and obtaining an endorsement. However, doing so could leave you with several penalties, such as hefty fines, court fees, and up to 40 hours of community service. You can also receive four points on your license for riding without an endorsement.
Now that you know the steps for getting your Colorado motorcycle license, you’ll be on your way to becoming a street legal rider.
And to help you get started on the right foot, we invite you to sign up for a free Rider’s Benefit Kit from Law Tigers. And although we hope it never happens, if you ever become a motorcycle accident victim, contact our Law Tigers team at 1-888-863-7216 for assistance.