Minnesota Motorcycle Laws: What Riders Need to Know

Motorcyclists in Minnesota are subject to certain laws that the state has put in place to protect both riders and other road users. Failure to adhere to these laws can put you at risk of receiving citations and fines and can also increase your chances of suffering injuries. Here is what you need to know about Minnesota motorcycle laws.

Class M Endorsement on License

Minnesota motorcycle rules require all motorcycle operators to have a motorcycle instruction permit or Class M endorsement on their driver’s license. This requirement ensures that riders have the necessary skills and knowledge to safely operate a motorcycle on public roads.

Lane Splitting

Riding between lanes of traffic, or “lane splitting,” is illegal except for police officers in the performance of their official duties.

Minnesota Motorcycle Helmet Laws

In Minnesota, not all motorcyclists have to wear helmets, but it’s a good idea for safety. Read more about motorcycle helmet safety statistics.

Which riders are required to wear helmets?

In Minnesota, these motorcyclists must wear a helmet that’s approved by the Department of Transportation (DOT):

  • People under 18 years old
  • Those with a permit who don’t have their license endorsement yet

Even though it’s not required for everyone, we suggest all riders wear a DOT-approved helmet to stay safe.

Liability Insurance Requirements

Motorcyclists in Minnesota must carry liability insurance to cover injuries and other losses if they hurt someone else in an accident. The minimum liability insurance requirements are the same as for other motor vehicles:

  • $30,000 per person for bodily injury
  • $60,000 per accident for bodily injury
  • $10,000 for property damage

Unlike other motorists, motorcyclists are not required to carry personal injury protection (PIP) insurance, although they can purchase first-party medical payments (MedPay) coverage to help pay for medical bills after an accident.

Here are some other optional add-ons to consider:

  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
  • Comprehensive coverage
  • Collision coverage

License Plate and Registration

All motorcycles in Minnesota must be properly registered with the state and display a valid license plate. The license plate must be securely fastened and displayed horizontally or vertically, with the letters and numbers facing outward from the vehicle.

Safety Equipment

Minnesota motorcycle laws require motorcycle riders and passengers to use certain safety equipment. All riders must wear eye protection, such as a face shield, goggles, or glasses, even if the motorcycle has a windshield.

Additionally, motorcycles must have at least one rear-view mirror and a horn.

The Law Tigers are Committed to Protecting Riders

If you or a loved one suffered an injury in a motorcycle accident, our legal team here at Law Tigers is ready to help. For decades, we’ve helped defend the rights of wronged motorcycle riders by providing skilled representation and sound legal advice across the United States. To get a free case evaluation or to schedule your free consultation, call us at Law Tigers today at 1-800-529-8443.