Oregon requires bikers to maintain valid motorcycle insurance coverage. Of course, it’s illegal to drive without at least the mandatory minimum insurance coverage.
In this post, our Law Tigers team will explain all about Oregon motorcycle insurance requirements, including coverage minimums, necessary equipment, penalties for riding without insurance, and legal options for riders who have suffered an injury after a motorcycle accident.
What Are the Minimum Motorcycle Insurance Requirements in Oregon?
Revised Statute 806.010 describes Oregon’s motorcycle insurance laws, which require riders to have coverage for basic bodily injury, personal injury protection, property damage, and uninsured motorist coverage. Here are the mandatory minimums that every insured motorist must meet:
- $20,000 for damage and destruction of property
- $25,000 for death or bodily injury (one person)
- $50,000 for death or bodily injury (two or more persons)
- $15,000 per person for personal injury protection
- $25,000 per person and $50,000 per crash of uninsured motorist coverage
Riders may also purchase additional policies or coverage to ensure adequate protection in the event of an accident.
At-Fault Insurance Laws
Oregon is an “at-fault” state regarding motor vehicle accidents. Thus, the person who is responsible for causing the accident is also accountable for paying expenses related to the other party’s injuries and damages that occurred in the accident.
Oregon Motorcycle Equipment Requirements
To ride your motorcycle legally in Oregon, you must wear a helmet and carry proof of insurance. Additionally, every motorcycle must have the following equipment to be street-legal:
- A white license plate light
- A rear red reflector
- A rear red tail light and red brake light
- A white headlamp (illuminated during day and night)
- A functioning horn (audible from at least 200 feet)
- At least one rear-view mirror (with at least 200 feet of rear visibility)
- Fenders for every wheel
- Functioning turn signal lights (bikes from 1974 onward)
- A working exhaust system
- A muffler that meets Department of Environmental Quality noise restrictions
What Are the Penalties for Riding a Motorcycle in Oregon Without Insurance?
If you fail to meet the Oregon motorcycle insurance requirements and choose to ride your bike anyway, you risk stiff penalties. Depending on the circumstances of your offense, you could be subject to expensive fines, have your motorcycle towed, or even lose your driving privileges.
If the Oregon court convicts you of driving without insurance, you’ll need to file proof of insurance with the DMV (Driver & Motor Vehicle Services) for at least three years. Uninsured riders in an accident typically face a one-year license suspension.
Legal Recourse for Riders Who Suffer an Injury in a Motorcycle Accident
If you or a loved one suffered an injury in a motorcycle accident, you have a few options for seeking compensation. With the help of an experienced Oregon motorcycle accident lawyer, you can focus on recovery while they fight on your behalf and seek maximum compensation in your case. After a bike accident injury, you have three main options to recover compensation:
- File a claim with your own insurance company under your personal injury protection.
- File a personal injury lawsuit in civil court against the other party.
- File a third-party claim with the other party’s insurance company under their liability coverage.
Contact Us at Law Tigers Today
Following Oregon motorcycle insurance requirements is necessary for every licensed rider in the state. Uninsured riders face stiff penalties and fines, which increase in severity in the event of an accident. If you need legal assistance after suffering a motorcycle accident injury, our Law Tigers team is here to help. Call us at Law Tigers today at (888) 863-7216 and schedule your free case consultation with our skilled team of attorneys.