Motorcycle Laws in Colorado

Female, dressed with motorcycle gear, riding her motorcycle in Colorado

Colorado motorcycle laws are explicit about what is and is not allowed on the road while riding. Whether you live in Colorado or ride through it from another state, make sure you follow the letter of the law when riding your motorcycle in Colorado.

Colorado Motorcycle Laws

The laws for motorcycle riders in Colorado help to protect riders and other vehicles when sharing the roads. Some laws improve your bike’s visibility so drivers will see you, while others prevent risky rider behavior that can lead to accidents.

Every motorcycle in Colorado must have the equipment listed below, all in working order:

●        One or two headlights that meet statutory minimum safety requirements and limitations

●        A red tail light mounted between 20 and 72 inches from the ground

●        Rear reflectors (at least one)

●        A brake light manufactured after 1958, including antique motorcycles from before 1958

●        Brakes on at least one wheel

●        A horn audible from at least 200 feet

●        A muffler

●        A rear-view mirror that shows a distance of 200 feet behind

●        USDOT-approved tires

●        All standard safety equipment installed by the manufacturer

Protective Gear

In Colorado, riders under 18 must wear a helmet approved by the U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT). Although older riders do not have to wear helmets, statistical studies show that wearing helmets saves lives in motorcycle crashes.

All riders in Colorado must wear protective eyewear. A helmet visor is the best option, but goggles or glasses with safety lenses are also acceptable. A windshield alone does not provide adequate eye protection.

Motorcycle Insurance

All drivers of any motor vehicle in the state of Colorado must carry liability insurance, including:

●        Bodily injury insurance

●        Property damage liability (PDL)

●        Medical payments insurance

●        Personal injury protection (PIP) coverage

●        State minimum 25/50/15 coverage for bodily injury, per accident, and PDL coverage

You do not need to carry separate motorcycle insurance as a rider unless you carry passengers on your bike.

Traffic and Parking Laws for Motorcycles

When on the road with car drivers and other motorcyclists, each driver must follow certain safety laws and policies to protect themselves and other drivers.

Lane-splitting, or sharing a lane with a passenger vehicle for passing or tandem travel, is illegal. However, two motorcycle riders can share a lane, riding two across in tandem with another motorcycle.

Many motorcyclists experience the temptation to split the lane with a car when traffic slows down or stops during peak traffic hours. This can lead to accidents with cars attempting to merge into another lane to avoid an accident ahead or similar situations.

Otherwise, bikers have the right to the full width of the lane when riding, and cars should not pass unless they move entirely into the next lane. Additionally, riders should not attach their motorcycle to another vehicle for a live tow, such as grabbing onto a truck ahead of them.

Colorado motorcycle laws for parking include:

●        No parking on a sidewalk, crosswalk, railroad tracks, or in an intersection

●        No parking along the roadside of a parallel-parked vehicle

●        No parking on a bridge, elevated highway, or inside a tunnel

●        No parking on a median or gap between divided highways

●        Other restrictions that could potentially block traffic or present a safety hazard

Contact Us at Law Tigers for Help with a Motorcycle Accident in Colorado

Be sure to review these Colorado motorcycle laws before your next trip, and we hope you’ll call us at Law Tigers for help with any legal motorcycle issues you face, anywhere in the U.S. At Law Tigers, we’re lawyers who ride and practice motorcycle law. Call us for a free case evaluation at 1-888-863-7216, and don’t forget to sign up for your free rider benefit card.